Reminder: Nominate your favorite High School Teacher for a $3,000 Award!

Office of the Provost
Nov. 22, 2021, 11:21 a.m.
All KU Lawrence Students, Seniors


Do you recall a high school teacher who had a powerful impact on you?  Did you have a great teacher?

Repay them for their hard work by nominating them for a $3,000 award!

About the Wolfe Teaching Excellence Award

All KU seniors can nominate outstanding high school teachers who have encouraged and positively influenced them to dream, aspire, and persevere. High school teachers from anywhere in the U.S. or abroad, as well as in any field, are eligible for the Wolfe Teaching Excellence Award.

Nominations should include evidence of how their teaching impacted you or how they guided you in your academic career path. Nominations can highlight a variety of qualifications such as great teaching, a caring attitude, help with academic decision and giving time and creative efforts. 

Nominations may come from KU seniors in any department and must be received by 5 p.m. on January 21, 2022.

To nominate a high school teacher who influenced you, please use this online form. Paper nominations may also be submitted to the attention of: The Wolfe Teaching Excellence Award Committee, c/o Debra Bia, Office of the Chancellor, 230 Strong Hall, 1450 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS  66045-7535. The nomination must include: 

  • your name,
  • your e-mail,
  • your street address,
  • your teacher’s name,
  • subject taught,
  • the teacher’s school and school’s address; and
  • a one-page (minimum) essay on how your teacher influenced your academic development in high school and beyond, and why your teacher is deserving of the Wolfe Teaching Excellence Award.

If selected, the high school where your former teacher is employed will also receive $1,000. If conditions allow, the recipients will be honored during commencement weekend at the School of Education and Human Sciences convocation ceremony and at a dinner held in their honor with their student nominator. Several teachers will be selected for the award.