• Home
  • Steering Committee Announcement

Steering Committee

April 25, 2013

Every 10 years KU undergoes an extensive self-study to prepare for a university-wide reaccreditation review by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) of the North Central Association. Accreditation assures our students that their academic programs meet nationally recognized standards. Accreditation is also required in order for KU to receive federal funds for student financial aid and research. KU was granted a full 10-year accreditation, without stipulations, on June 24, 2005.

Over the next year and a half, the university community will be engaged in the extensive data gathering and evaluation necessary to prepare a self-study report compiling the accomplishments of KU and assembling evidence that KU has met the criteria for reaccreditation. This report will be prepared in advance of a visit to campus by a team of HLC consultant-evaluators in February 2015.

The self-study process provides us the opportunity to take stock of all we have accomplished since 2005 and to identify areas in need of continued work. To accomplish this work, a steering committee has been appointed. During the 2013-14 academic year, the steering committee and subcommittees will gather information and write a draft report that will be vetted widely among university constituent groups in fall 2014.

The steering committee will be led by Susan Twombly, professor of higher education, who in addition to serving KU in many different roles is a consultant-evaluator for the Higher Learning Commission.

The following steering committee members will chair subcommittees:

Barbara Barnett, associate dean and associate professor in the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications;

Ann Cudd, associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and University Distinguished Professor of Philosophy;

Diane Goddard; vice provost for finance and administration;

Rodolfo Torres, associate vice chancellor for Research and Graduate Studies and professor of mathematics.

Over the summer, members of faculty, staff and students from Lawrence and KUMC campuses will be appointed to various subcommittees.

Additional members of the steering committee include:

Sara Rosen, senior vice provost for academic affairs and professor of linguistics;

Nelda Godfrey, clinical professor from KUMC;

David Cook, vice chancellor for the KU Edwards Campus;

A student to be named later.

Office of the Provost
Feedback/Let Us Know

Do you have a concern, or would you like to offer your thoughts on a proposal put forward by this office?

The Provost Office offers an anonymous form so you can raise issues important to you or respond to issues and activities on campus. 

Let Us Know.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Several initiatives are furthering efforts to ensure KU offers a welcoming and supportive environment for all to learn, live, work, and discover.

RT @KUAdvising : New Instagram Post! Lets talk schedule changes - you’ve gotten emails about checking your schedule, now we want to make su…

Policy Library Search

Visit the Policy Office for more information.

Green Office

Why KU
  • One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
  • 44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
  • 5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times