• Home
  • Staff selected for Aspiring Leaders program

Staff selected for Aspiring Leaders program

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

The Aspiring Leaders logo lists the pillars that characterize the learning.LAWRENCE — Mike Rounds, vice provost for operations, has announced the 2020 cohort of Aspiring Leaders at the University of Kansas.

The program provides university staff without an official leadership title an opportunity to learn the essentials of effective leadership to lead from where they are within their organization. This is the fifth cohort since the program launched in 2017 and the second time it has been open to staff in any department. Fourteen staff have been chosen.

The eight-month program, originally designed in partnership with the Shared Service Centers leadership, provides an experiential, hands-on approach to motivate people to apply what they have learned by serving as influential team members and putting into place tools to sustain the learning.

The curriculum includes monthly classroom sessions, journaling, individual coaching and partnering with each other to sustain the learning. Underpinning the program is the belief that deep awareness of self is required to be an effective leader. Participants engage in clarifying their strengths, developing their ability to manage self, critical thinking and engaging the practice of leadership through a reflective and intentional pursuit. Class sessions begin Jan. 9, 2020.

The 2020 Aspiring Leaders are:

  • Mallory Baker, admissions coordinator, School of Law         
  • Pam Benedick, financial analyst, SSC Administration
  • Jeromy Cardiff, IT technician, Information Technology        
  • Tahnee Dening, postdoctoral researcher, Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Scott Durham, IT engineer, nformation Technology
  • Renee Hewitt, instructional designer, Center for Online and Distance Learning       
  • Elizabeth Karr, recruitment coordinator and academic advisor, School of Business
  • Marissa Marshall, administrative associate, Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
  • Kristina Mease, business advisor, KU Small Business Development Center  
  • Shuang Song, financial analyst, Office of Business and Financial Planning   
  • John Stipetich, emergency management specialist, Office of Public Safety   
  • Pamela Tso, accounting specialist, Carruth SSC        
  • Brittney Tyler-Milholland, academic advisor, College Office of Graduate Affairs     
  • Kayla Wegley, undergraduate coordinator, Department of Physics & Astronomy
Office of the Provost
Feedback/Let Us Know

Do you have a concern, or would you like to offer your thoughts on a proposal put forward by this office?

The Provost Office offers an anonymous form so you can raise issues important to you or respond to issues and activities on campus. 

Let Us Know.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Several initiatives are furthering efforts to ensure KU offers a welcoming and supportive environment for all to learn, live, work, and discover.

RT @UnivOfKansas : The Kansas Geological Survey at KU will join 15 other state and federal entities in a $6.24 million project to further re…

Policy Library Search

Visit the Policy Office for more information.

Green Office

Why KU
  • One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
  • 44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
  • 5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times