• Home
  • Graduate Studies Advisory Committee

Graduate Studies Advisory Committee

Graduate students are the lifeblood of KU and take an active role in both our educational and research missions. The structures KU has in place to support graduate education and graduate students is of utmost importance.

The Graduate Studies Advisory Committee (GSAC) has been commissioned to examine the structure and focus of KU's Office of Graduate Studies. The GSAC will be chaired by Prof. Audrey Lamb, who is serving this semester in the role of interim dean of Graduate Studies. GSAC will consist of two subcommittees, both considering how KU may best support graduate education within the Office of Graduate Studies – one focused on strategies to further strengthen the existing structures (Refresh Subcommittee) and one that considers new possible structures (Re-imagine Subcommittee).

The subcommittee co-chairs will be:

  • Associate Dean of Education Lisa Wolf-Wendel, Refresh Subcommittee
  • Assistant Dean of Graduate Studies Amanda Ostreko, Refresh Subcommittee
  • Distinguished Professor of English Maryemma Graham, Re-imagine Subcommittee
  • Distinguished Professor of Engineering Perry Alexander, Re-imagine Subcommittee

Each subcommittee will have about 15 members – the two co-chairs, two members common to both subcommittees and about 10 additional members particular to that subcommittee. These subcommittees are composed of students, faculty and staff from across campus, as well as representation from student, staff, and faculty governance.

During the spring semester the GSAC and the subcommittees will meet and prepare reports that will provide guidance to Chancellor Girod and Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Carl Lejuez to help them develop a plan for the future of the Office of Graduate Studies. The committee will also offer guidance to Interim Dean Lamb as she works closely with staff from the Office of Graduate Studies to implement this plan.

 

Members of the committees and their subcommittee assignment are:

Committee and subcommittee leadership

  • Audrey Lamb, Interim Dean of Graduate Studies and Professor of Molecular Biosciences, Committee chair, Lamb@ku.edu
  • Maryemma Graham, Distinguished Professor of English, Co-chair Re-imagine Subcommittee, mgraham@ku.edu
  • Perry Alexander, Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, director ITTC, Co-chair Re-imagine Subcommittee, palexand@ku.edu
  • Lisa Wolf-Wendel, Associate Dean of Education, Co-chair Refresh Subcommittee, lwolf@ku.edu
  • Amanda Ostreko, Assistant Dean of Graduate Studies, Co-chair Refresh Subcommittee, amandao@ku.edu

Re-imagine subcommittee members

  • John Bricklemyer, Assistant Director and Professor of Practice for Engineering and Project Management, Re-imagine Subcommittee, jtbrick@ku.edu
  • Hui Cai, Assistant Professor of Architecture, Re-imagine Subcommittee, huicai@ku.edu
  • Pamela Johnson, Graduate student / senate representative, Re-imagine Subcommittee, Pamela.johnson@ku.edu
  • Kristine Latta, CLAS Office of Graduate Affairs director, Re-imagine Subcommittee, klatta@ku.edu
  • Tien-Tsung Lee, Professor of Journalism, Re-imagine Subcommittee, ttlee@ku.edu
  • Scott McEathron, Head of the Center for Graduate Initiatives and Engagement of KU Libraries, Re-imagine Subcommittee, macmap68@ku.edu
  • Lumen Mulligan, Associate Dean of Law, Re-imagine Subcommittee, lumen@ku.edu
  • Tom Prisinzano, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, Re-imagine Subcommittee, prisinza@ku.edu
  • Greg Rudnick, Professor of Physics & Astronomy, Re-imagine Subcommittee, grudnick@ku.edu
  • Belinda Sturm, Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Associate Professor of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering, Re-imagine Subcommittee, bmcswain@ku.edu
  • Jessica Webb, Human Resource Management staff/ Staff Senate Representative, Re-imagine Subcommittee, jessicawebb@ku.edu
  • Mike Wilkins, Professor of Business, Re-imagine Subcommittee, Mike.wilkins@ku.edu
  • Jennifer Wilmot, Graduate student, Re-imagine Subcommittee, jmwilmot@ku.edu

Refresh subcommittee members

  • Jessy Carolina Ayestas, Graduate student / senate representative, Refresh Subcommittee, ayestas@ku.edu
  • Martin Bergee, Associate Dean of Music, Refresh Subcommittee, mbergee@ku.edu
  • Stefani Buchwitz, Self Graduate Fellowship Program Manager, Refresh Subcommittee, buchwitz@ku.edu
  • Melody Henning, Center for Online and Distance Learning staff, Refresh Subcommittee, mhenning@ku.edu
  • Megan Greene, Professor of History, Refresh Subcommittee, mgreene@ku.edu
  • Liz Kowalchuk, Associate Professor of Visual Art, Refresh Subcommittee, kowalchu@ku.edu
  • Anna Paradis, School of Engineering Staff, Refresh Subcommittee, aparadis@ku.edu
  • Laurie Ramirez, Professor of Social Welfare, Refresh Subcommittee, lramirez@ku.edu
  • Mary Roach, Associate Dean of KU Libraries, Refresh Subcommittee, mroach@ku.edu
  • Tarun Sabarwal, Professor of Economics, Refresh Subcommittee, sabarwal@ku.edu
  • Andrew Shoemaker, Academic Achievement and Access Center director, Refresh Subcommittee, shoe@ku.edu
  • Dee Steinle, School of Business staff, Refresh Subcommittee, dsteinle@ku.edu
  • Michael Werle, KU Medical Center Office of Graduate Studies, Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology, Refresh Subcommittee, mwerle@kumc.edu
  • Ben Wolfe, Academic Support Center Director, Edwards Campus, Refresh Subcommittee, Ben.wolfe@ku.edu

Members of both subcommittees

  • Angie Loving, Associate Director of Human Resources for Recruiting and Compensation, (replacing recently retired Ola Faucher) Refresh Subcommittee and Revision Subcommittee, aloving@ku.edu
  • Roberta Pokphanh, Assistant Vice Provost for International Affairs, Refresh Subcommittee and Revision Subcommittee, pokphanh@ku.ed
Office of the Provost
Feedback/Let Us Know

Do you have a concern, or would you like to offer your thoughts on a proposal put forward by this office?

The Provost Office offers an anonymous form so you can raise issues important to you or respond to issues and activities on campus. 

Let Us Know.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Several initiatives are furthering efforts to ensure KU offers a welcoming and supportive environment for all to learn, live, work, and discover.

RT @KUintlaffairs : We are excited for a week of events celebrating International Education Week! https://t.co/8qQWBEoJBi


Policy Library Search

Visit the Policy Office for more information.

Green Office

Why KU
  • One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
  • 44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
    —ALA
  • 5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times